The following is a list of states and the status of their 400 lb APU weight exemption status for Auxiliary Power Units.
To get the 400 lb. APU weight exemption allowance, you'll need to be able to provide:
* certified weight of the Auxiliary Power Unit in writing (if your APU only weighs 380 lbs, you'll only be allowed 380 lbs)
* certified proof (or be able to demonstrate) that the APU is functional (working)
You'll also want to carry a copy of the Federal regulation with you. You can find it in the Electronic Code of Federal Regulations in Title 23 (Highways), part 658.17 (you'll find it in section n).
Update APU Grant
For a limited time OOIDA (Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association) is offering a program where you can obtain a reimbursement of up to 40 percent of the cost of buying and installing an APU, OOIDA members can obtain more information or apply for the Association’s grant program by calling 1-800-444-5791. You must be a member of OOIDA. Membership fee is $45 for one year and includes one subscription to Land Line Magazine. To join OOIDA or get more information Click Here.
States that have adopted the 400 lb APU weight exemption allowance (officers at the weigh stations may be unaware):
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia and Wisconsin.
These state do not have a law in place. There are enforcement policies in place that allow the extra weight. Arkansas, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Vermont and Wyoming.
States that do NOT allow the 400-pound APU weight exemption:
California, Georgia, Hawaii, Kentucky, Massachusetts, North Carolina, Rhode Island, Tennessee.
This list was complied from The Department OF Energy.